Manage Creator Studio collaboration permissions on the ServiceNow AI Platform
In Creator Studio, you can control how people work together on apps by setting up permissions called collaboration descriptors. These descriptors define what users can and cannot do.
Before you begin
Role required: app_engine_admin, and permission to Manage collaborators
About this task
Users with the Manage collaborators permission can adjust who can collaborate on the apps they own. For more information, check Manage collaborators for an app in Creator Studio.
Note: The way that collaboration permissions appear may vary depending on whether your instance has App Engine Studio installed.
Procedure
-
Navigate to All > App Engine > Collaboration > Descriptors.
-
Edit the permissions for a collaboration descriptor, such as owner or editor.
-
Find and select the Name of the descriptor you want to modify.
-
Choose a Development permission set, such as Service Catalog, to update its permissions.
For a list of permissions, see Collaboration permissions.
-
Select Save and Update.
-
-
Assign the updated descriptor to users or groups.
-
Select the descriptor Name, such as Owner or Editor.
-
Select the applicable tab to assign either users or groups:
- App Collaboration Users tab: For individual users
- App Collaboration Groups tab: For groups of users
-
Select the New button.
-
On the form, fill in the fields.
For more information, see the following topics:
-
Select Save.
-
-
If you need a new collaboration descriptor, create a custom one.
-
Select the New button.
-
On the form, fill in the fields.
-
|
Field |
Description |
|---|---|
|
Name |
Name for the descriptor. |
|
Description |
Description of what the descriptor can do. Examples are as follows: - Owner
|
|
Application |
Scope of the collaboration descriptor. Currently, all collaboration descriptors must be created in the global scope. |
|
Standard |
Option for inviting other collaborators with this role. |
Result
You've now set up collaboration descriptors, defined permissions, and assigned roles to users and groups for specific apps. For complete details on using the Collaboration app, see Application collaboration.
Parent Topic:Administering collaboration in Creator Studio
---
title: Manage Creator Studio collaboration permissions on the ServiceNow AI Platform
description: In Creator Studio, you can control how people work together on apps by setting up permissions called collaboration descriptors. These descriptors define what users can and cannot do.
locale: en-US
canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/application-development/creator-studio/manage-creator-studio-collaboration.html
release: australia
product: Creator Studio
classification: creator-studio
topic_type: task
last_updated: "2026-09-10"
reading_time_minutes: 2
breadcrumb: [Collaboration, Administer, Creator Studio, Developing your application, Classic app development, Building applications]
---
# Manage Creator Studio collaboration permissions on the ServiceNow AI Platform
In Creator Studio, you can control how people work together on apps by setting up permissions called collaboration descriptors. These descriptors define what users can and cannot do.
## Before you begin
Role required: app\_engine\_admin, and permission to Manage collaborators
## About this task
Users with the Manage collaborators permission can adjust who can collaborate on the apps they own. For more information, check [Manage collaborators for an app in Creator Studio](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/application-development/creator-studio/creator-studio-manage-collaborators.md).
**Note:** The way that collaboration permissions appear may vary depending on whether your instance has App Engine Studio installed.
## Procedure
1. Navigate to **All** > **App Engine** > **Collaboration** > **Descriptors**.
2. Edit the permissions for a [collaboration descriptor](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/application-development/creator-studio/creator-studio-glossary.md), such as owner or editor.
1. Find and select the **Name** of the descriptor you want to modify.
2. Choose a **Development permission set**, such as **Service Catalog**, to update its permissions.
For a list of permissions, see [Collaboration permissions](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/application-development/collaboration-permissions.md).
3. Select **Save** and **Update**.
3. Assign the updated descriptor to users or groups.
1. Select the descriptor **Name**, such as **Owner** or **Editor**.
2. Select the applicable tab to assign either users or groups:
- **App Collaboration Users** tab: For individual users
- **App Collaboration Groups** tab: For groups of users
3. Select the **New** button.
4. On the form, fill in the fields.
For more information, see the following topics:
- [Assign collaboration descriptors to users](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/application-development/assign-descriptor-user.md)
- [Assign collaboration descriptors to groups](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/application-development/assign-descriptor-group.md)
5. Select **Save**.
4. If you need a new collaboration descriptor, create a custom one.
1. Select the **New** button.
2. On the form, fill in the fields.
<table id="table_gk1_tzs_jpb"><thead><tr><th>
Field
</th><th>
Description
</th></tr></thead><tbody><tr><td>
Name
</td><td>
Name for the descriptor.
</td></tr><tr><td>
Description
</td><td>
Description of what the descriptor can do. Examples are as follows: - Owner
- Editor
</td></tr><tr><td>
Application
</td><td>
Scope of the collaboration descriptor. Currently, all collaboration descriptors must be created in the global scope.
</td></tr><tr><td>
Standard
</td><td>
Option for inviting other collaborators with this role.
</td></tr></tbody>
</table> 3. Select **Submit**.
## Result
You've now set up collaboration descriptors, defined permissions, and assigned roles to users and groups for specific apps. For complete details on using the Collaboration app, see [Application collaboration](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/application-development/application-collaboration.md).
**Parent Topic:**[Administering collaboration in Creator Studio](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/application-development/creator-studio/creator-studio-admin-collab-tasks.md)
| title | Manage Creator Studio collaboration permissions on the ServiceNow AI Platform |
| description | In Creator Studio, you can control how people work together on apps by setting up permissions called collaboration descriptors. These descriptors define what users can and cannot do. |
| locale | en-US |
| canonical_url | https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/application-development/creator-studio/manage-creator-studio-collaboration.html |
| release | australia |
| product | Creator Studio |
| classification | creator-studio |
| topic_type | task |
| last_updated | 2026-09-10 |
| reading_time_minutes | 2 |
| breadcrumb | CollaborationAdministerCreator StudioDeveloping your applicationClassic app developmentBuilding applications |