Important considerations before deleting update sets

reference australia Updated Sep 10, 2026 1 min read delete-update-set-cautions.md
Raw file servicenow.com

Revert a customization, back out the update set rather than deleting it.

Administrators can delete an update set only when it isn’t the current update set and contains no sys_update_xml entries. For example, after merging update sets, you might want to remove the original sets. This capability is governed by an access control rule (ACL) applied to the sys_update_set table.

Don’t delete sys_update_xml entries, because this action:

  • Doesn’t undo the updates.
  • Removes any record of who applied the customizations.
  • Removes the sys_update_xml entries associated with the update set, so customizations are overwritten when the instance is upgraded.

When you try to delete an update entry, a warning message appears. Select OK to confirm the deletion.

Parent Topic:Update sets reference

Search documentation
Search document titles and file paths on the australia branch