Delete a work order
For tracking purposes, you should close or cancel an existing work order that is no longer in use. Closed and canceled work orders are inactive and don't appear on work order lists. Avoid deleting a work order unless you're cleaning up errors, such as duplicate work orders.
Before you begin
Role required: wm_admin
About this task
Deleting a work order automatically deletes associated work order tasks, so agents aren't assigned work order tasks that are part of a deleted work order.
Procedure
-
Navigate to All > Field Service > All Work Orders.
-
Click the work order.
If work order tasks have part requirements with transfer orders, the work order tasks won't be deleted. Before deleting the work order, delete transfer orders attached to work order tasks.
-
Click Delete.
-
Confirm the action when prompted.
---
title: Delete a work order
description: For tracking purposes, you should close or cancel an existing work order that is no longer in use. Closed and canceled work orders are inactive and don't appear on work order lists. Avoid deleting a work order unless you're cleaning up errors, such as duplicate work orders.
locale: en-US
canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/field-service-management/work-order-management/t\_DeleteAWorkOrder.html
release: australia
product: Work Order Management
classification: work-order-management
topic_type: task
last_updated: "2026-09-10"
reading_time_minutes: 1
breadcrumb: [Manage work orders, Prepare work orders, Use, Field Service Management]
---
# Delete a work order
For tracking purposes, you should close or cancel an existing work order that is no longer in use. Closed and canceled work orders are inactive and don't appear on work order lists. Avoid deleting a work order unless you're cleaning up errors, such as duplicate work orders.
## Before you begin
Role required: wm\_admin
## About this task
Deleting a work order automatically deletes associated work order tasks, so agents aren't assigned work order tasks that are part of a deleted work order.
## Procedure
1. Navigate to **All** > **Field Service** > **All Work Orders**.
2. Click the work order.
If work order tasks have part requirements with transfer orders, the work order tasks won't be deleted. Before deleting the work order, delete transfer orders attached to work order tasks.
3. Click **Delete**.
4. Confirm the action when prompted.
| title | Delete a work order |
| description | For tracking purposes, you should close or cancel an existing work order that is no longer in use. Closed and canceled work orders are inactive and don't appear on work order lists. Avoid deleting a work order unless you're cleaning up errors, such as duplicate work orders. |
| locale | en-US |
| canonical_url | https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/field-service-management/work-order-management/t\_DeleteAWorkOrder.html |
| release | australia |
| product | Work Order Management |
| classification | work-order-management |
| topic_type | task |
| last_updated | 2026-09-10 |
| reading_time_minutes | 1 |
| breadcrumb | Manage work ordersPrepare work ordersUseField Service Management |