Schedule unused resources to be powered off or terminated

task australia Updated Sep 10, 2026 4 min read um-schedule-job-cloudin.md
Raw file servicenow.com

To terminate or power off an unused resource, add it to an Unused resources job, specify whether to terminate or power off, and specify when the job should run. You can also move resources from one scheduled job to a different job.

Before you begin

Run Discovery on each service account.

Ensure that the Billing Download job has completed for each provider.

Ensure that the Price Sheet Download job has completed for each provider.

Role required: insights_admin [sn_clin_core.insights_admin] or insights_owner [sn_clin_core.insights_owner]

About this task

Important: After an Unused resources job powers off or terminates a machine, the machine is added to the Excluded Resources list for Business Hours. This process ensures that the resource isn't started again in the future because it matches a Business Hours policy. The exclusion reason on the Business Hours Excluded Resources tab indicates that the resource is an unused resource.

When you change the resources that are included in a job, the app checks for the following conditions:

  • A resource in the job is owned by another user (as when a insights_admin updates a job that was created by an insights_owner or an insights_owner updates a job that was created by a different insights_owner).
  • The job was created by another user.

If either condition is met, the app sends an email notification to the owner of the resource or the creator of the job.

Important: Starting with Cloud Cost Management v11.0.0, the sn_change_write role is no longer inherited by the insights_admin and insights_owner roles. Both roles now inherit the sn_change_read role instead. As a result, users with these roles can view change requests that are created when a recommendation is scheduled, but they can't create change requests directly. To schedule recommendations, configure a change creator user before using the Recommendations module. For more information, see.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to Cloud Cost Management Workspace > Optimization > Unused resources.

  2. In the list on the appropriate tab, select the check boxes for the resources to terminate.

    • To create an Unused resources job for resources that are new candidates for termination: On the New Recommendations tab, select the resources and then select Schedule Job.
    • To create a job for resources that had previously been scheduled but the action wasn't completed successfully: On the Declined Recommendations tab or the Failed Recommendations tab, select the resources and then select Reschedule. Note: Microsoft Azure only: The Azure Advisor service generates the recommendations that appear in Rightsizing and Unused resources reports. Cloud Cost Management doesn't generate the recommendations.
  3. In the dialog box, fill in the fields.

Field

Value

Job Type

Type of job action.Select Schedule job.

Job name

Unique and descriptive name for the Unused resources job.

Action

The action to take on the selected resources:- Power off machine: Power off triggers a Microsoft Azure process called deallocation to set the resource as Stopped (Deallocated).

  • Terminate machine: Terminated machines can't be recovered.
  • Terminate machine and delete storage: If the root volume isn’t automatically deleted when the VM is terminated, the job deletes the root volume. No other volumes are deleted.

Note: Terminated resources or deleted volumes can't be recovered.

Schedule

Date and time to run the Unused resources job.

Approval type

Type of change request to use. Unused Machines operations are directly integrated with the ServiceNow® Change Management feature.

  • Auto approval (Standard Change): Generates and auto-approves a change request to terminate or stop the resource. The system also sends the approved change request to the change group. The resource is added to the list of resources that the job terminates or stops.

  • Manual approval (Normal Change): Generates a change request (Normal Change type) for a member of the change group to terminate or stop the resource and continues to list the resource in the appropriate Unused resources reports.

    • Until a member of the change group approves/rejects the change, the resource state is set to Pending, the resource remains listed on reports, and no other action is taken.
    • If a member of the change group approves the request, the state is set to Approved and the resource is added to the list of resources that the job terminates or stops.
    • If a member of the change group rejects the request, the resource state is set to Declined, the resource remains listed on reports, and no action is taken. Note:

The Short description, Description, Assignment group, and Affected CIs fields are auto populated. For more information, see Create a change request.

Change template

This field appears only when the Approval type is selected as Auto approval.

Change request template (Standard Change type) to be used. If no template appears in the list, you must create one. See Create a change request template.

4. Select **Submit**.

Result

The Unused resources job is created and runs at the scheduled time.

Parent Topic:Manage unused resources

Related topics

Change Management

Standard change catalog

[bundle-itsm.create-a-change-request-template]

Exclude a resource from all Cloud Cost Management reports

Search documentation
Search document titles and file paths on the australia branch