Remember me

concept australia Updated Sep 10, 2026 2 min read c_ChSetRemMeChkbxCookie.md
Raw file servicenow.com

When the Remember me check box is selected at login, a cookie is stored on the user's computer. This cookie automatically authenticates the user upon subsequent visits.

If the user logs out, the cookie is destroyed. The default value of the Remember me check box is controlled by one property, and whether or not the check box appears on the login page is controlled by a different property.

Two properties, glide.ui.user_cookie.life_span_in_days and glide.ui.user_cookie.max_life_span_in_days control the glide_user system generated cookie expiration value. When a user accesses an instance with 'remember me' enabled, the access resets the cookie expiration period until the maximum (glide.ui.user_cookie.max_life_span_in_days) life span limit is reached.

Remember me properties

Configure the following properties to control the Remember me cookie behaviour:

Property Description
glide.ui.user_cookie.life_span_in_days Number of days before the cookie expires if the user does not revisit the instance.
glide.ui.user_cookie.max_life_span_in_days Maximum number of days before the cookie expires, regardless of user activity.

Note: To learn more about these properties, see the following topics in Instance Security Hardening Settings:

If the Remember me feature does not persist between sessions, verify the following conditions:

  • Cookies are enabled in your browser and not blocked by browser settings.
  • You are not using a private or incognito browsing session, which discards cookies when the session ends.
  • The glide.ui.user_cookie.max_life_span_in_days property value has not been reached. After the maximum life span is reached, the cookie expires and you must log in again.

Change the default value of the Remember me check box

You can change the default value of the Remember me check box.

Before you begin

Role required: admin

Procedure

  1. Navigate to All > System Properties > UI Properties.

  2. Locate the Default value of "Remember me" checkbox on login page property (glide.ui.remember.me.default).

  3. To set the default value of the Remember me check box to No, clear the property check box.

  4. To restore the default value of the Remember me check box to Yes, select the property check box.

Remove the Remember me check box

You can remove the Remember me check box so users do not have access to this feature.

Before you begin

Role required: security_admin

Note: To learn more about this property, see Remove remember me in Instance Security Hardening Settings.

Procedure

  1. Elevate your role to security_admin.

  2. Navigate to System Properties > UI Properties.

  3. Locate the Remove "Remember me" checkbox from login page property (glide.ui.forgetme).

  4. Select the property check box.

    This setting removes the Remember me check box, invalidates existing cookies, and disables Remember me functionality entirely.

  5. To restore the Remember me check box to the login page, clear the property check box.

Search documentation
Search document titles and file paths on the australia branch