Create anonymization job

task australia Updated Sep 10, 2026 5 min read dps-create-anonymization-job.md
Raw file servicenow.com

Configure a data privacy job on your production instance to use anonymized data on your non-production instance for user and data class jobs.

Before you begin

The data privacy job supports two de-identification use cases:

  • Sensitive data of specific sys_users
  • Sensitive data of particular data class.

Role required: data_privacy_processor and admin

Procedure

  1. Elevate to the data_privacy_processor role.

  2. Navigate to System Security > Data Privacy > Anonymization.

  3. In an Anonymization policy, select Schedule job for the policy to be used in the job.

    A policy must be in a published state in order to schedule an anonymization job.

    Warning: Anonymization jobs are highly destructive and can only be reversed on rollback. Double check all information and consider executing dry runs before scheduling an anonymization job.

  4. In the form, fill in the fields.

Field

Description

Policy used

Read only name of the selected privacy policy configuration to use for this job. Edit the policy to view additional information about the policy. For detail on privacy policy configurations, see Create anonymization policies.

Job description

Description of the job.

Start time

The start of the time to run this job in HH:MM:SS.

End time

The end of the time window to run this job in HH:MM:SS. The end time must be after the start time. The job runs before the time entered in this field. If the job has not yet completed, the job will pause and resume at the next time window start.

Type of user selection

Select either users or groups to be anonymized.Note: This required field displays only when the selected privacy policy condition requires a selection of user records.

Select users/groups

Select the specific set of users or groups to be anonymized in this job. Supports up to a maximum of 1000 users.Note: This required field displays only when the selected privacy policy condition requires a selection of user records.

**Important:** All tables must have a correct sys\_dictionary entry before scheduling and during its job.
  1. Add conditions to specify which data should be anonymized.

    This does not apply to cloning anonymization policies.

    Note: For recurring jobs, tables with defined conditions will run a full scan each time the job executes.

    Select the table fields you want to apply a condition to, a boolean operator for the field, and the condition value. You can add multiple conditions with the Or and And buttons, or delete the condition entirely by selecting the delete icon.

  2. Choose whether to run this job in Preview mode by selecting the Dry run toggle.

    You can run a preview of the anonymization job to see exactly how your data will be anonymized before committing your changes. This creates a temporary preview that auto-deletes after 72 hours. No actual data will be modified.

    Choose between:

    • Sample preview - Uses a sample scan on up to 1000 records. Faster to generate, best for a quick initial check.

    • Detailed preview - Uses a full scan on all records in scope. Takes longer, but reflects actual anonymization results more accurately. The Dry Run capability has the following considerations and limitations to be aware of:

    • Dry run preview does not work for anonymization of encrypted columns.

    • There is an upper limit of 200k records per table.

    • Sample dry run - 10 preview records per column are allowed.

    • Detailed dry run - 10 preview records per data pattern per column are allowed; for data pattern anonymization, the limitation is 10 * the number of active data patterns.

  3. Select Schedule job on the form to place the anonymization in the job queue.

    The job runs between the times selected in the Start time and End time fields. If the job has not completed during the start and end time window, the job will continue at the next time window start.

    A job can only be executed once, even if Dry Run is selected. To run a job again based on the same policy, select Schedule job and complete the form using the same field values.

    Warning: Anonymization jobs on encrypted columns will decrypt and re-encrypt any encrypted columns targeted by the job. To prevent this, select No Action as the policy technique.

    The job is listed in the Jobs pane.

Field

Description

Name

Name of the anonymization job.

Description

Description of the anonymization job.

Updated

The date and time that the job was last updated.

State

State of the data privacy job:- Scheduled: Default state for new jobs.

  • Completed: The job has successfully anonymized the selected data.
  • Cancelled: The job was manually cancelled.
  • Error: There was a problem saving the job. Re-schedule the job or create a new job. There may be issues with the configuration if the error continues.
  • Rollback in progress: The job has been set to roll back anonymization.
  • Rollback complete: The anonymization job rollback has successfully completed. A read-only field.
8. Select a job from the **Jobs** pane to open the Job summary.
After a job is scheduled, the **Cancel Job** and **Pause** buttons appear in the Job summary.

Field

Description

Estimated record count

The estimated number of records this dry-run job affects before being executed. A read-only field

Total data records processed

The total number of individual data records affected by this job. A read-only field.

Total data tables processed

The total number of data tables processed by this job. A read-only field.

Time remaining to rollback

The remaining time that a completed data anonymization job can be rolled back and de-anonymize the data. A read-only field.

Total users processed

The total number of individual user records this job affects. A read-only field.

Cancel job

Select to cancel the anonymization job. This must be selected prior to the job start time.When selected, the job status updates to Cancelled.

Pause

Select to pause the job and rollback recording, if rollback was selected. A warning message will display after a three-day expiry period for rollback contexts.This must be selected after the job start time and before the job end time.

When selected, the job status updates to Paused.

Resume

Restarts a paused job. Rollback is not supported for resumed jobs if paused. Cancel the job and create a data privacy job. The recording uses an unexpired rollback context.When selected, the job status updates to Scheduled.

Export

Downloads a .PDF file of the data privacy job details.

Search documentation
Search document titles and file paths on the australia branch