Turn off the Next Experience welcome screen after upgrading your instance

task australia Updated Sep 10, 2026 2 min read remove-welcome-splash-screen.md
Raw file servicenow.com

You can turn off the Next Experience welcome splash screen that appears in the Core UI after upgrading your instance by creating a user preference.

Before you begin

Role required: admin

About this task

A Next Experience welcome splash screen appears in the Core UI when you upgrade your instance but haven't turned on the Next Experience UI on the instance.

This welcome splash screen appears for admins only. It informs you about the Next Experience UI so you can enable it. After the welcome splash screen has notified you about the Next Experience UI, you can use the following steps to turn off the splash screen.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to All > User Administration > User Preferences.

  2. Select New.

  3. Enter the following values.

Description

A description of the user preference. For example, Remove the welcome splash screen.

User

The user that the splash screen is turned off for.

To turn off the splash screen for all users, leave this field empty.

To turn off the splash screen for specific users, user the search icon ([Omitted image "SearchIcon.png"] Alt text: Search image.) to find the user and select them in the search results.

Name

User preference name. To turn off the welcome splash screen, enter the following name:

overview_help.visited.navui

Value

Enter true to enable this user preference, which turns off the welcome splash screen.

Type

Select string.

System

Select this check box to apply this user preference system wide.

4. Select **Submit**.
The welcome splash screen is marked as **Visited**. When the welcome splash screen is marked as **Visited**, the screen is turned off on your instance for specified users or all users depending on how you configured the **User** option.

**Note:** In the User Preferences table, verify that there is only one user preference record where the **System** field and **Value** field is set to `true`.

Parent Topic:User preferences

Related topics

User preference settings

Configure available keyboard shortcuts

Search documentation
Search document titles and file paths on the australia branch