Retire a knowledge block in Agent Workspace
task australia Updated Sep 10, 2026 1 min read retire-block-agent.md
Retire a published knowledge block if you no longer want it to be available for users to view or search.
Before you begin
You must have contribute access to the knowledge base that stores the knowledge block you want to retire.
Role required: agent_workspace_user and knowledge
About this task
You can retire knowledge blocks only if they are not used in any knowledge articles.
Procedure
-
Navigate to All > Agent Workspace > Agent Workspace Home.
-
Go to Lists > Knowledge Articles > Published.
-
Select the knowledge block you want to retire.
-
Click Edit.
-
Click Retire.
Result
The knowledge block is retired depending on the workflow setting of its knowledge base.
- Knowledge - Instant Retire: The knowledge block is immediately retired.
- Knowledge - Approval Retire: The knowledge block is retired on approval completion.
When retired, your knowledge block no longer appears in the Published list under Knowledge Blocks in Agent Workspace.
51 lines · 1.7 KB
--- title: Retire a knowledge block in Agent Workspace description: Retire a published knowledge block if you no longer want it to be available for users to view or search. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/servicenow-platform/knowledge-management/retire-block-agent.html release: australia product: Knowledge Management classification: knowledge-management topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-09-10" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Knowledge blocks authoring in Agent Workspace, Using knowledge blocks, Using Knowledge Management, Knowledge Management, Manage content capabilities, Extend ServiceNow AI Platform capabilities] --- # Retire a knowledge block in Agent Workspace Retire a published knowledge block if you no longer want it to be available for users to view or search. ## Before you begin You must have contribute access to the knowledge base that stores the knowledge block you want to retire. Role required: agent\_workspace\_user and knowledge ## About this task You can retire knowledge blocks only if they are not used in any knowledge articles. ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Agent Workspace** > **Agent Workspace Home**. 2. Go to **Lists** > **Knowledge Articles** > **Published**. 3. Select the knowledge block you want to retire. 4. Click **Edit**. 5. Click **Retire**. ## Result The knowledge block is retired depending on the workflow setting of its knowledge base. - **Knowledge - Instant Retire**: The knowledge block is immediately retired. - **Knowledge - Approval Retire**: The knowledge block is retired on approval completion. When retired, your knowledge block no longer appears in the Published list under Knowledge Blocks in Agent Workspace.
| title | Retire a knowledge block in Agent Workspace |
| description | Retire a published knowledge block if you no longer want it to be available for users to view or search. |
| locale | en-US |
| canonical_url | https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/servicenow-platform/knowledge-management/retire-block-agent.html |
| release | australia |
| product | Knowledge Management |
| classification | knowledge-management |
| topic_type | task |
| last_updated | 2026-09-10 |
| reading_time_minutes | 1 |
| breadcrumb | Knowledge blocks authoring in Agent WorkspaceUsing knowledge blocksUsing Knowledge ManagementKnowledge ManagementManage content capabilitiesExtend ServiceNow AI Platform capabilities |