Retire a knowledge block
task australia Updated Sep 10, 2026 1 min read retire-knowledge-block.md
You can retire a published knowledge block so that it's no longer available for users to view or search.
Before you begin
Role required: user must have contributor access to the knowledge base.
Procedure
-
Navigate to All > Knowledge > Knowledge Blocks > Published.
-
Open the applicable record.
-
Select Retire to retire the knowledge block.
Note:
- Starting from the Brazil release, you can retire the knowledge block attached to an article by setting the (glide.knowman.allow_retire_block) system property to true.
- Any additional steps required to retire the knowledge block, such as approvals, depend on the workflow for the knowledge base. See Knowledge workflows for more information.
- A knowledge block can only be deleted if it's not being used in any knowledge article, including any retired article or previous version of an article.
Result
The retired knowledge block is no longer visible in the article.
Parent Topic:Create a knowledge block
43 lines · 2.0 KB
---
title: Retire a knowledge block
description: You can retire a published knowledge block so that it's no longer available for users to view or search.
locale: en-US
canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/servicenow-platform/knowledge-management/retire-knowledge-block.html
release: australia
product: Knowledge Management
classification: knowledge-management
topic_type: task
last_updated: "2026-09-10"
reading_time_minutes: 1
breadcrumb: [Create a knowledge block, Using knowledge blocks, Using Knowledge Management, Knowledge Management, Manage content capabilities, Extend ServiceNow AI Platform capabilities]
---
# Retire a knowledge block
You can retire a published knowledge block so that it's no longer available for users to view or search.
## Before you begin
Role required: user must have contributor access to the knowledge base.
## Procedure
1. Navigate to **All** > **Knowledge** > **Knowledge Blocks** > **Published**.
2. Open the applicable record.
3. Select **Retire** to retire the knowledge block.
**Note:**
- Starting from the Brazil release, you can retire the knowledge block attached to an article by setting the \(**glide.knowman.allow\_retire\_block**\) system property to true.
- Any additional steps required to retire the knowledge block, such as approvals, depend on the workflow for the knowledge base. See [Knowledge workflows](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/servicenow-platform/knowledge-management/r_KnowledgeWorkflows.md) for more information.
- A knowledge block can only be deleted if it's not being used in any knowledge article, including any retired article or previous version of an article.
## Result
The retired knowledge block is no longer visible in the article.
**Parent Topic:**[Create a knowledge block](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/servicenow-platform/knowledge-management/create-modify-knowledge-block.md)
| title | Retire a knowledge block |
| description | You can retire a published knowledge block so that it's no longer available for users to view or search. |
| locale | en-US |
| canonical_url | https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/servicenow-platform/knowledge-management/retire-knowledge-block.html |
| release | australia |
| product | Knowledge Management |
| classification | knowledge-management |
| topic_type | task |
| last_updated | 2026-09-10 |
| reading_time_minutes | 1 |
| breadcrumb | Create a knowledge blockUsing knowledge blocksUsing Knowledge ManagementKnowledge ManagementManage content capabilitiesExtend ServiceNow AI Platform capabilities |