Avoiding duplicate workflows
Update sets manage the published state of all versions of a workflow prior to committing the workflow version on a local instance.
The last version of a workflow committed as an Insert or Update using an update set becomes the currently published version, regardless of the publishing sequence for the workflow versions.
Parent Topic:Input variable movement
Commit a workflow in an update set
Follow the steps in this page to commit a workflow in an update set.
Procedure
-
Workflow A - Version 1 is created and published in Update Set A.
-
Update Set A is completed and migrated to a local instance.
-
When the update set is committed, the system sets all prior versions of Workflow A to published = false.
In the first migration, there are no prior versions.
-
Workflow A - Version 1 becomes the only published version of the workflow.
Update set migration example
It is not possible to have multiple published versions as a result of update set commits. However, this does not eliminate risk, and care should be taken when migrating update sets.
Consider this example:
-
Workflow A - Version 1 is migrated and committed to the production instance.
-
Update Set B is created.
-
Update Set C is created.
-
Workflow A - Version 2 is published in Update Set B.
A customer update record is added to Update Set B with the Version 2 payload.
A customer update record is added to Update Set B with the Version 1 workflow left unpublished.
-
Update Set B is completed.
-
Workflow A - Version 3 is published in Update Set C.
A customer update record is added to Update Set C with the Version 3 payload.
A customer update record is added to Update Set C with the Version 2 workflow left unpublished.
-
Update Set C is completed.
-
Update Set C is migrated and committed to the production instance.
Workflow A - Version 1 is set to unpublished.
Workflow A - Version 2 update is skipped since Update Set B, which contains Version 2, was never migrated.
Workflow A - Version 3 is committed and becomes the only published version of the workflow.
Update set migration risk
Update Set B is migrated and committed to the production instance.
-
Workflow A - Version 3 is set to unpublished.
-
Workflow A - Version 1 remains unpublished.
-
Workflow A - Version 2 is committed and becomes the only published version of the workflow.
The workflow has gone back a version, perhaps unintentionally. The regressed version becomes the currently published version.
---
title: Avoiding duplicate workflows
description: Update sets manage the published state of all versions of a workflow prior to committing the workflow version on a local instance.Follow the steps in this page to commit a workflow in an update set.It is not possible to have multiple published versions as a result of update set commits. However, this does not eliminate risk, and care should be taken when migrating update sets.Update Set B is migrated and committed to the production instance.
locale: en-US
canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/servicenow-platform/legacy-workflow/c\_AvoidingDuplicateWorkflows.html
release: australia
product: Legacy Workflow
classification: legacy-workflow
topic_type: concept
last_updated: "2026-09-10"
reading_time_minutes: 2
breadcrumb: [Input variable movement, Workflow administration, Classic Workflow, ServiceNow AI Platform Additional Capabilities, Extend ServiceNow AI Platform capabilities]
---
# Avoiding duplicate workflows
Update sets manage the published state of all versions of a workflow prior to committing the workflow version on a local instance.
The last version of a workflow committed as an Insert or Update using an update set becomes the currently published version, regardless of the publishing sequence for the workflow versions.
**Parent Topic:**[Input variable movement](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/servicenow-platform/legacy-workflow/c_InputVariableMovement.md)
## Commit a workflow in an update set
Follow the steps in this page to commit a workflow in an update set.
### Procedure
1. Workflow A - Version 1 is created and published in Update Set A.
2. Update Set A is completed and migrated to a local instance.
3. When the update set is committed, the system sets all prior versions of Workflow A to published = false.
In the first migration, there are no prior versions.
4. Workflow A - Version 1 becomes the only published version of the workflow.
## Update set migration example
It is not possible to have multiple published versions as a result of update set commits. However, this does not eliminate risk, and care should be taken when migrating update sets.
Consider this example:
1. Workflow A - Version 1 is migrated and committed to the production instance.
2. Update Set B is created.
3. Update Set C is created.
4. Workflow A - Version 2 is published in Update Set B.
A customer update record is added to Update Set B with the Version 2 payload.
A customer update record is added to Update Set B with the Version 1 workflow left unpublished.
5. Update Set B is completed.
6. Workflow A - Version 3 is published in Update Set C.
A customer update record is added to Update Set C with the Version 3 payload.
A customer update record is added to Update Set C with the Version 2 workflow left unpublished.
7. Update Set C is completed.
8. Update Set C is migrated and committed to the production instance.
Workflow A - Version 1 is set to unpublished.
Workflow A - Version 2 update is skipped since Update Set B, which contains Version 2, was never migrated.
Workflow A - Version 3 is committed and becomes the only published version of the workflow.
## Update set migration risk
Update Set B is migrated and committed to the production instance.
1. Workflow A - Version 3 is set to unpublished.
2. Workflow A - Version 1 remains unpublished.
3. Workflow A - Version 2 is committed and becomes the only published version of the workflow.
The workflow has gone back a version, perhaps unintentionally. The regressed version becomes the currently published version.
| title | Avoiding duplicate workflows |
| description | Update sets manage the published state of all versions of a workflow prior to committing the workflow version on a local instance.Follow the steps in this page to commit a workflow in an update set.It is not possible to have multiple published versions as a result of update set commits. However, this does not eliminate risk, and care should be taken when migrating update sets.Update Set B is migrated and committed to the production instance. |
| locale | en-US |
| canonical_url | https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/servicenow-platform/legacy-workflow/c\_AvoidingDuplicateWorkflows.html |
| release | australia |
| product | Legacy Workflow |
| classification | legacy-workflow |
| topic_type | concept |
| last_updated | 2026-09-10 |
| reading_time_minutes | 2 |
| breadcrumb | Input variable movementWorkflow administrationClassic WorkflowServiceNow AI Platform Additional CapabilitiesExtend ServiceNow AI Platform capabilities |