Delete an AI agent chat log

task brazil Updated Sep 10, 2026 1 min read na-ai-wa-delete-chat-log.md
Raw file servicenow.com

After you close an AI agent session, you can delete its chat if any sensitive information was captured. Deleting your chat log permanently erases the chat history of that session, including screenshots.

Before you begin

  • Close at least one interaction with an AI agent. Active chats can't be deleted.
  • Only the user who opened the AI agent session can delete the session's chat.

Role required: now_assist_panel_user

About this task

As you're interacting with an AI agent, the text of your conversation with the AI agent is recorded in a chat log. The screenshots taken during the session are also recorded in the chat.

While interacting with an AI agent in the ServiceNow Otto panel, the Web view tab displays the following notice from the title's information icon [Omitted image "info-icon.png"] Alt text: Information icon:

Screenshots are being captured by the system. You can delete the chat log if any sensitive information was captured.

After your chat session is closed, its title is listed in your ServiceNow Otto panel under the Closed section.

Review your chat log by selecting its title. Use the following procedure if you decide to permanently delete your chat log from chat history.

Procedure

  1. In the ServiceNow Otto panel, select the context menu icon [Omitted image "image.icon-docintel-additional-actions"] and navigate to Chats > Closed.

  2. Locate the title of your AI agent session, and hover your cursor over it.

    Note: The title of your chat may default to the name of the task used with the AI agent. The chat title was displayed as a banner while the session was running.

  3. Select the delete icon [Omitted image "Form_DeleteIcon.png"] Alt text: that appears when you hover your cursor over the chat title.

    [Omitted image "delete-chat-log.png"] Alt text: In theServiceNow Otto panel, the delete icon is highlighted.

    A dialog box appears with the question Delete this chat?

    [Omitted image "image.na-ai-wa-delete-chat-log3Z"] Alt text: The Delete chat log confirmation dialog box.

  4. Select Delete to permanently delete the chat.

Result

The chat history and its screenshots are deleted from the system.

Parent Topic:Trigger an AI agent to execute adaptive path desktop actions

Search documentation
Search document titles and file paths on the brazil branch