Cancel a work order task
The Cancel Task option is appropriate if a work order task is no longer necessary or is a duplicate of another work order task.
Before you begin
Role required: wm_agent
About this task
Work orders and work order tasks cannot be canceled while in Closed Complete or Closed Incomplete state. When you cancel a work order task, the ServiceNow system automatically:
- Cancels all associated transfer orders if the items have not already shipped. If the items have shipped, the system blocks the cancellation of the task until the parts are delivered.
- Removes all predecessor (upstream) and successor (downstream) dependencies.
- Changes the state of the parent work order to Canceled if all associated work order tasks are Canceled.
- Removes all part requirements without a transfer order line.
- Retains all asset usage information.
- Sends a notification email and SMS to the customer about the cancellation of work order task.
Work order tasks can be canceled by users with these roles:
| Role | Description |
|---|---|
| Initiator | Can cancel a work order, which automatically cancels all associated work order tasks. |
| Qualifier | Can cancel work orders and work order tasks. |
| Dispatcher | Can cancel work orders and work order tasks. |
| Agent | Can cancel work order tasks assigned to them. |
| Field Service Management Administrator | Can cancel any active work order or work order task at any time. |
Procedure
-
Navigate to All > Field Service > Work Order > All Work Orders.
-
Open a work order.
-
Open a work order task.
-
In Work notes, enter a cancellation reason.
-
Click Cancel Task.
An error message appears if text is not entered into the Work Notes field.
For traceability, auditing, and possible deletion, field service administrators need to know the reason why a work order or work order task was canceled.
Result
The customer receives an SMS and email notification that the work order task is canceled.
---
title: Cancel a work order task
description: The Cancel Task option is appropriate if a work order task is no longer necessary or is a duplicate of another work order task.
locale: en-US
canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/field-service-management/work-order-management/t\_CancelAWorkOrderTask.html
release: brazil
product: Work Order Management
classification: work-order-management
topic_type: task
last_updated: "2026-09-10"
reading_time_minutes: 1
breadcrumb: [Execute work order tasks, Updating task status, Completing work orders on the web interface, Use, Field Service Management]
---
# Cancel a work order task
The **Cancel Task** option is appropriate if a work order task is no longer necessary or is a duplicate of another work order task.
## Before you begin
Role required: wm\_agent
## About this task
Work orders and work order tasks cannot be canceled while in **Closed Complete** or **Closed Incomplete** state. When you cancel a work order task, the ServiceNow system automatically:
- Cancels all associated transfer orders if the items have not already shipped. If the items have shipped, the system blocks the cancellation of the task until the parts are delivered.
- Removes all predecessor \(upstream\) and successor \(downstream\) dependencies.
- Changes the state of the parent work order to **Canceled** if all associated work order tasks are **Canceled**.
- Removes all part requirements without a transfer order line.
- Retains all asset usage information.
- Sends a notification email and SMS to the customer about the cancellation of work order task.
Work order tasks can be canceled by users with these roles:
|Role|Description|
|----|-----------|
|Initiator|Can cancel a work order, which automatically cancels all associated work order tasks.|
|Qualifier|Can cancel work orders and work order tasks.|
|Dispatcher|Can cancel work orders and work order tasks.|
|Agent|Can cancel work order tasks assigned to them.|
|Field Service Management Administrator|Can cancel any active work order or work order task at any time.|
## Procedure
1. Navigate to **All** > **Field Service** > **Work Order** > **All Work Orders**.
2. Open a work order.
3. Open a work order task.
4. In **Work notes**, enter a cancellation reason.
5. Click **Cancel Task**.
An error message appears if text is not entered into the **Work Notes** field.
For traceability, auditing, and possible [deletion](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/brazil/markdown/field-service-management/work-order-management/t_DeleteAWorkOrder.md), field service administrators need to know the reason why a work order or work order task was canceled.
## Result
The customer receives an SMS and email notification that the work order task is canceled.
| title | Cancel a work order task |
| description | The Cancel Task option is appropriate if a work order task is no longer necessary or is a duplicate of another work order task. |
| locale | en-US |
| canonical_url | https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/field-service-management/work-order-management/t\_CancelAWorkOrderTask.html |
| release | brazil |
| product | Work Order Management |
| classification | work-order-management |
| topic_type | task |
| last_updated | 2026-09-10 |
| reading_time_minutes | 1 |
| breadcrumb | Execute work order tasksUpdating task statusCompleting work orders on the web interfaceUseField Service Management |