Delete a client access policy
Remove a client access policy and the access to tools that it grants a client.
Before you begin
Role required: sn_ai_governance.ai_steward
Procedure
-
In AI Control Tower, navigate to Inventory > Assets > MCP servers and select the server name.
-
Select the AI Gateway tab, and then select the Policies sub-tab.
-
Under Policy categories, select Access management.
-
In the Client access list, select Delete from the actions menu on the policy's row.
-
In the confirmation dialog, select Delete.
You can't undo a deletion.
Result
The policy is removed from the Client access list. If access management is on for the server, the client loses access to the tools that only this policy granted. If the client has no other policy on the server, it's no longer authorized to use any of the server's tools through AI Gateway.
Important: It can take up to 30 minutes for the deletion to apply to the client if it's already connected. Until then, the client can still use the tools that the policy granted. For details, see Controlling which tools clients can access.
---
title: Delete a client access policy
description: Remove a client access policy and the access to tools that it grants a client.
locale: en-US
canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/intelligent-experiences/ai-gw-delete-client-access-policy.html
release: brazil
topic_type: task
last_updated: "2026-10-26"
reading_time_minutes: 1
keywords: [client access policy, delete policy, access management]
breadcrumb: [Control client access, Configure, AI Gateway, Configure, AI Control Tower, Establishing AI governance, Enable AI Experiences]
---
# Delete a client access policy
Remove a client access policy and the access to tools that it grants a client.
## Before you begin
Role required: sn\_ai\_governance.ai\_steward
## Procedure
1. In AI Control Tower, navigate to **Inventory** > **Assets** > **MCP servers** and select the server name.
2. Select the **AI Gateway** tab, and then select the **Policies** sub-tab.
3. Under **Policy categories**, select **Access management**.
4. In the **Client access** list, select **Delete** from the actions menu on the policy's row.
5. In the confirmation dialog, select **Delete**.
You can't undo a deletion.
## Result
The policy is removed from the **Client access** list. If access management is on for the server, the client loses access to the tools that only this policy granted. If the client has no other policy on the server, it's no longer authorized to use any of the server's tools through AI Gateway.
**Important:** It can take up to 30 minutes for the deletion to apply to the client if it's already connected. Until then, the client can still use the tools that the policy granted. For details, see [Controlling which tools clients can access](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/brazil/markdown/intelligent-experiences/ai-gw-controlling-client-access.md).
| title | Delete a client access policy |
| description | Remove a client access policy and the access to tools that it grants a client. |
| locale | en-US |
| canonical_url | https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/intelligent-experiences/ai-gw-delete-client-access-policy.html |
| release | brazil |
| topic_type | task |
| last_updated | 2026-10-26 |
| reading_time_minutes | 1 |
| keywords | client access policydelete policyaccess management |
| breadcrumb | Control client accessConfigureAI GatewayConfigureAI Control TowerEstablishing AI governanceEnable AI Experiences |