Configure product-level release settings

task brazil Updated Sep 10, 2026 2 min read dpr-config-product-release-setting.md
Raw file servicenow.com

Configure release settings for a product or service that are applied whenever a release is created or executed for that product.

Before you begin

Role required: sn_dpr_model.release_admin or sn_dpr_model.product_manager

Procedure

  1. Navigate to Workspaces > Digital Product Release Workspace.

  2. Select the products and services icon ([Omitted image "dpr-icon-products.png"] Alt text: Products and services icon.).

  3. Select a product or service from the list.

  4. Select Release settings.

  5. Configure the release defaults for the product.

    Note: If you don't set these values, all respective records are displayed when you create releases.

Setting

Description

Release readiness dates

Option to enable scheduling of releases for the product outside defined release targets.This setting appears when the sn_dpr.out_of_band_release_allowed system property value is true.

Release calendars

Calendars available for targeting releases.

Release templates

Release templates that can be applied to new releases.

Change models

Controls which change models and standard change templates are available when creating and linking change requests for a release.Note: This list displays only those change models that have Available in 'Create New' selected and standard change templates that are active.

CI classes

Determines the CI selection available during release execution to the CI classes most relevant to the product.

Product team

Limits visibility of releases created for this product to members of the product team.To restrict access:

  1. Select Restrict access to product releases,
  2. Add users or groups in the Users and Groups fields respectively.

Note: Only users or groups whose members have the sn_dpr_model.release_user role are available for selection.

When you create a release for this product, these users and group members from product team are added to the release team and have default access to the release.

Users outside the release team can't view the release or its related records.

6. Select **Save**.

Result

The release settings for the product are saved and are used in the following flows:

  • The release creation flows show only the configured templates and calendars by default.
  • Change request creation shows only the configured change models and standard change templates.
  • Configuration item selection shows only CIs of the configured classes.
  • When restricted access is selected, releases created for this product are visible only to the product team (selected users and groups). The restricted access setting and product team are copied to each new release as the initial release team.

Parent Topic:Using Digital Product Release

Related topics

Create a release with a wizard

Create a release for a product or service

Create a release readiness target

Manage change requests in a release

Manage configuration items in a release

Restricted access for releases

Keywords product-level settingsrelease settingsconfigure productrestricted access product settingsproduct team release access
Search documentation
Search document titles and file paths on the brazil branch