Deactivate a pre-release feature
Deactivate a pre-release feature if it is not working as expected or if you no longer need the feature.
Before you begin
Role required: admin
You can deactivate a pre-release feature at any time. When you deactivate a feature, the functionality is removed from your instance.
About this task
Deactivating a feature disables the feature's functionality on your instance. However, deactivating is not the same as uninstalling. When you deactivate a feature, artifacts that were installed as part of the feature may remain on your instance.
Important:
Residual artifacts left by a deactivated feature don't affect your instance's functionality, but they aren't automatically removed. After deactivating, review your instance for any artifacts that require manual cleanup.
Procedure
-
Navigate to All > Feature Preview Program.
-
Locate the active feature you want to deactivate.
-
Select Deactivate.
Result
The pre-release feature is deactivated and removed from your instance.
What to do next
After deactivating a feature, review your instance for any residual artifacts that the feature installed.
If you have questions or need assistance after deactivating a feature, contact the product team.
Parent Topic:Feature Preview Program
--- title: Deactivate a pre-release feature description: Deactivate a pre-release feature if it is not working as expected or if you no longer need the feature. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/platform-administration/deactivate-prerelease-feature.html release: brazil topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-09-10" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Feature Preview Program, Basic system configuration, Get started, Administer the ServiceNow AI Platform] --- # Deactivate a pre-release feature Deactivate a pre-release feature if it is not working as expected or if you no longer need the feature. ## Before you begin Role required: admin You can deactivate a pre-release feature at any time. When you deactivate a feature, the functionality is removed from your instance. ## About this task Deactivating a feature disables the feature's functionality on your instance. However, deactivating is not the same as uninstalling. When you deactivate a feature, artifacts that were installed as part of the feature may remain on your instance. **Important:** Residual artifacts left by a deactivated feature don't affect your instance's functionality, but they aren't automatically removed. After deactivating, review your instance for any artifacts that require manual cleanup. ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Feature Preview Program**. 2. Locate the active feature you want to deactivate. 3. Select **Deactivate**. ## Result The pre-release feature is deactivated and removed from your instance. ## What to do next After deactivating a feature, review your instance for any residual artifacts that the feature installed. If you have questions or need assistance after deactivating a feature, contact the product team. **Parent Topic:**[Feature Preview Program](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/brazil/markdown/platform-administration/feature-preview-program.md)
| title | Deactivate a pre-release feature |
| description | Deactivate a pre-release feature if it is not working as expected or if you no longer need the feature. |
| locale | en-US |
| canonical_url | https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/platform-administration/deactivate-prerelease-feature.html |
| release | brazil |
| topic_type | task |
| last_updated | 2026-09-10 |
| reading_time_minutes | 1 |
| breadcrumb | Feature Preview ProgramBasic system configurationGet startedAdminister the ServiceNow AI Platform |