Roll back patch upgrades or plugin activations
Use the Rollback Contexts module to roll back patch upgrades and plugin activations.
Before you begin
Role required: admin
Review this information and requirements before performing rollback:
-
Rolling back is possible only between patches in the same software release. For example, Rolling back is possible from Orlando patch 2 to patch 1, but not from Orlando to New York.
-
The rollback must be done within 10 days of the most recent upgrade or plugin activation. If you need to retain a rollback context for more than 10 days, you can do so by adding a system property. See Rollback context properties.
-
You can only roll back to the previous version.
For example, rolling back from patch 3 to patch 1 requires two rollbacks.
-
You must have the Restore Deleted Records (com.snc.undelete) and Delete Recovery (com.glide.delete_recovery) plugins activated.
-
You can only roll back one active instance at a time.
Rolling back contexts on multiple nodes is not supported.
-
A rollback deletes data and may remove evidence of an upgrade or activation record, which makes it difficult to debug the problem that made the rollback necessary.
-
To roll back to a patch version before the Assigned WAR, submit a request for Customer Service and Support to do the rollback.
Procedure
-
Navigate to All > Rollback & Recovery > Rollback Contexts.
-
Select the context that you want to rollback.
-
Roll back by selecting the Rollback related link.
-
Confirm the rollback.
An indicator appears showing the progress of the rollback. glide.war updates to the rolled-back version. The log shows the stages of the rollback process.
-
After the rollback is complete, log out of your instance and log back in again.
-
Open a new tab and see if the context state changed to Rolled back.
If not, contact Customer Service and Support.
Parent Topic:Roll back and delete recovery
---
title: Roll back patch upgrades or plugin activations
description: Use the Rollback Contexts module to roll back patch upgrades and plugin activations.
locale: en-US
canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/platform-administration/table-administration-and-data-management/roll-back-rollback-context.html
release: brazil
product: Table Administration and Data Management
classification: table-administration-and-data-management
topic_type: task
last_updated: "2026-09-10"
reading_time_minutes: 1
breadcrumb: [Roll back and delete recovery, Tables and data, Configure core features, Administer the ServiceNow AI Platform]
---
# Roll back patch upgrades or plugin activations
Use the **Rollback Contexts** module to roll back patch upgrades and plugin activations.
## Before you begin
Role required: admin
Review this information and requirements before performing rollback:
- Rolling back is possible only between patches in the same software release. For example, Rolling back is possible from Orlando patch 2 to patch 1, but not from Orlando to New York.
- The rollback must be done within 10 days of the most recent upgrade or plugin activation. If you need to retain a rollback context for more than 10 days, you can do so by adding a system property. See [Rollback context properties](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/brazil/markdown/platform-administration/table-administration-and-data-management/rollback-context-properties.md).
- You can only roll back to the previous version.
For example, rolling back from patch 3 to patch 1 requires two rollbacks.
- You must have the Restore Deleted Records \(com.snc.undelete\) and Delete Recovery \(com.glide.delete\_recovery\) plugins activated.
- You can only roll back one active instance at a time.
Rolling back contexts on multiple nodes is not supported.
- A rollback deletes data and may remove evidence of an upgrade or activation record, which makes it difficult to debug the problem that made the rollback necessary.
- To roll back to a patch version before the Assigned WAR, submit a request for Customer Service and Support to do the rollback.
## Procedure
1. Navigate to **All** > **Rollback & Recovery** > **Rollback Contexts**.
2. Select the context that you want to rollback.
3. Roll back by selecting the **Rollback** related link.
4. Confirm the rollback.
An indicator appears showing the progress of the rollback. **glide.war** updates to the rolled-back version. The log shows the stages of the rollback process.
5. After the rollback is complete, log out of your instance and log back in again.
6. Open a new tab and see if the context state changed to **Rolled back**.
If not, contact Customer Service and Support.
**Parent Topic:**[Roll back and delete recovery](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/brazil/markdown/platform-administration/table-administration-and-data-management/rollback-delete-recovery.md)
| title | Roll back patch upgrades or plugin activations |
| description | Use the Rollback Contexts module to roll back patch upgrades and plugin activations. |
| locale | en-US |
| canonical_url | https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/platform-administration/table-administration-and-data-management/roll-back-rollback-context.html |
| release | brazil |
| product | Table Administration and Data Management |
| classification | table-administration-and-data-management |
| topic_type | task |
| last_updated | 2026-09-10 |
| reading_time_minutes | 1 |
| breadcrumb | Roll back and delete recoveryTables and dataConfigure core featuresAdminister the ServiceNow AI Platform |