Retire a knowledge block

task brazil Updated Sep 10, 2026 1 min read retire-knowledge-block.md
Raw file servicenow.com

You can retire a published knowledge block so that it's no longer available for users to view or search.

Before you begin

Role required: user must have contributor access to the knowledge base.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to All > Knowledge > Knowledge Blocks > Published.

  2. Open the applicable record.

  3. Select Retire to retire the knowledge block.

    Note:

    • Starting from the Brazil release, you can retire the knowledge block attached to an article by setting the (glide.knowman.allow_retire_block) system property to true.
    • Any additional steps required to retire the knowledge block, such as approvals, depend on the workflow for the knowledge base. See Knowledge workflows for more information.
    • A knowledge block can only be deleted if it's not being used in any knowledge article, including any retired article or previous version of an article.

Result

The retired knowledge block is no longer visible in the article.

Parent Topic:Create a knowledge block

Search documentation
Search document titles and file paths on the brazil branch