Assign ownership of content
Assign a user or group with the content manager (sn_cd.content_manager) role to a content item so only that user or group can edit and publish the content.
Before you begin
Role required: sn_cd.content_admin
Ensure Yes is checked under Allow Ownership for Content Items under Content Publishing or Content Experiences properties. For more information, see Properties installed with Content Experiences and Properties installed with Content Publishing.
About this task
Provide a content manager or group of managers with exclusive access to sensitive content, such as a notice of an upcoming merger or reduction of workforce.
Alternatively, use a content item as a template that can be repeatedly cloned and assigned to content owners for customization.
Procedure
-
Navigate to All > Content Publishing > Content Library > View All.
-
Select a topic.
-
From the top-left menu ([Omitted image "menu-outline-24.svg"] Alt text: Menu icon), select View content record.
- To assign ownership to a user, select the Restrict content by user tab.
- To assign ownership to a group, select the Restrict content by group tab.
-
Click New.
-
From the User or Group field, click the Lookup using list ([Omitted image "magnify-glass-outline-icon.png"] Alt text: Lookup using list icon) icon and select a user or group.
Note: Only groups that have the content admin (sn_cd.content_admin) or content manager (sn_cd.content_manager) roles appear. If the members of the group have these roles, but the group does not, the group does not appear.
-
Select Submit.
After a user or group is associated with content, only that user or group can access the content when scheduling content or when adding content to a campaign. Removing the user or group makes the content accessible by all content managers.
---
title: Assign ownership of content
description: Assign a user or group with the content manager \(sn\_cd.content\_manager\) role to a content item so only that user or group can edit and publish the content.
locale: en-US
canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/ecpro-ca-cd-content-restriction.html
release: brazil
product: Employee Experience Foundation
classification: employee-experience-foundation
topic_type: task
last_updated: "2026-09-10"
reading_time_minutes: 1
breadcrumb: [Content Ownership, Setup employee communications, Configuring Employee Center Pro, Employee Center Pro, EmployeeWorks, Employee Service Management]
---
# Assign ownership of content
Assign a user or group with the content manager \(sn\_cd.content\_manager\) role to a content item so only that user or group can edit and publish the content.
## Before you begin
Role required: sn\_cd.content\_admin
Ensure **Yes** is checked under **Allow Ownership for Content Items** under Content Publishing or Content Experiences properties. For more information, see [Properties installed with Content Experiences](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/brazil/markdown/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/properties-installed-with-content-auto.md) and [Properties installed with Content Publishing](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/brazil/markdown/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/properties-with-content-delivery.md).
## About this task
Provide a content manager or group of managers with exclusive access to sensitive content, such as a notice of an upcoming merger or reduction of workforce.
Alternatively, use a content item as a template that can be repeatedly cloned and assigned to content owners for customization.
## Procedure
1. Navigate to **All** > **Content Publishing** > **Content Library** > **View All**.
2. Select a topic.
3. From the top-left menu \(\[Omitted image "menu-outline-24.svg"\] Alt text: Menu icon\), select **View content record**.
- To assign ownership to a user, select the **Restrict content by user** tab.
- To assign ownership to a group, select the **Restrict content by group** tab.
4. Click **New**.
5. From the **User** or **Group** field, click the **Lookup using list** \(\[Omitted image "magnify-glass-outline-icon.png"\] Alt text: Lookup using list icon\) icon and select a user or group.
**Note:** Only groups that have the content admin \(sn\_cd.content\_admin\) or content manager \(sn\_cd.content\_manager\) roles appear. If the members of the group have these roles, but the group does not, the group does not appear.
6. Select **Submit**.
After a user or group is associated with content, only that user or group can access the content when scheduling content or when adding content to a campaign. Removing the user or group makes the content accessible by all content managers.
| title | Assign ownership of content |
| description | Assign a user or group with the content manager \(sn\_cd.content\_manager\) role to a content item so only that user or group can edit and publish the content. |
| locale | en-US |
| canonical_url | https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/ecpro-ca-cd-content-restriction.html |
| release | brazil |
| product | Employee Experience Foundation |
| classification | employee-experience-foundation |
| topic_type | task |
| last_updated | 2026-09-10 |
| reading_time_minutes | 1 |
| breadcrumb | Content OwnershipSetup employee communicationsConfiguring Employee Center ProEmployee Center ProEmployeeWorksEmployee Service Management |